Day 43

image

Over Hilly Philly

I woke up this morning minutes before my alarm went off at 5:45. I was in a hurry to get going. The Weather Channel is calling for rain. I walk next door for breakfast but they don’t open until 8am. That’s too late, I need to get going. I get dressed in my riding clothes that I had washed the night before in the sink. They were hung drying in front of the a/c unit hanging on the lamp and chair. I am getting close to my goal and I am filled with anxiety. I am so close but that’s when people get carless. I must remain focused. The hardest part of any journey for me is always the last few miles. I listened to “The Ledge,” a book about 2 guys that climb Mt Rainier and fall into a crevasse on their descent. It’s the short days I worry about, the ones that should be a breeze but turn into challenges.
I have been at this for 43 days now and I’m ready to go home. I can’t wait to see my wife and sleep in my own bed. I am not loosing any hope of finishing, I am just remaining cautious. It takes very little to put an end to your trip out here. My friend and co worker’s motorcycle trip from Los Angeles to New York ended the other day due to mechanical failure. A sobering reminder that this trip is not over yet.
My buddy Andre called m at 0630 this morning, he was already up and running around in New York. I asked him to call Altoona Fire for me and see if I could stay with them. Andre set everything up with them and texted me the address. These guys have really been fun. They have already fed me twice and given me a tour of the city. These guys are the Firemen I’m used to, I feel at home here. It’s nice to feel at home when you are so far away from your own.
Weather report is looking gloomy. 70 percent chance of rain tomorrow. The guys said I can stay another day if I need to. I really want to get in 100 miles tomorrow if I can. The weather will be the judge of that.

2 thoughts on “Day 43

  1. Very true about the final steps being the hardest… there is a Japanese proverb, “When you have completed 95 percent of your journey, you are only halfway there.”

    Keep on the gas brother, see you soon.

  2. You are amazing Jason. The only advice I can offer is to remember what you’re doing; trust yourself. Keep your focus by trusting yourself. You’re doing a great job. You’re doing a ‘big’ thing. You’re amazing. Trust yourself. Stay cool kid; I’m looking forward to having you back in class and watch how much you focus there. You have tremendous focus. Keep going. Stay safe. Nancy.

Leave a Reply

