Day 5

image

Dear Friends and Family

Today was a grueling, hot uphill battle for the guys. They rode alone without support. In the past 2 days they managed to ride 207 miles, with the temperature almost always above 100 degrees. I am sure Jason will update Day 5 tomorrow after some well deserved sleep. All the text messages and phone calls helped to keep him pedaling today! Thank you to everyone for all of your positivity!

Love,

Nicole Teter

Test Day
Please do not pick up your bike until you are told to do so. You will have approx 9 hours and 55 minutes to complete your test. All students will cycle 110 miles with temperatures reaching 100 degrees. This test will be uphill the entire way. Keep your eyes on your own white line and notify. There is no one to notify, your on your own pal…its cowboy time.
What a day, we left feeling pretty beat up from the day before. I pulled my nemesis (the trailer) up a 4 percent grade for the first 31 miles. The fire ball (sun) heated things up around 1pm. As we continued climbing into ……? It got hot. This was when I asked myself, “Are we doing this thing or not?” Bring it! After a water break we continued onto Hwy 15 and continued to climb. Just when you want to quit, the freeway shoulder is ground down into a cheese grater. I think I lost some teeth. Running out of water I found a camp ground with a water spigot, thank god. As I rolled into Cedar City the sun went down and I continued to the Fire House in the dark.
I reflected on the difference between being supported yesterday and being unsupported today. I started to feel a little bit lonely. Then your texts started popping up on my phone. “We are behind you,ride on brah, and go Jason go! Then I started thinking about all your support on the blog. It sounds corny, but you are all really here with me. Many times today I just wanted to quit and I pictured YOU telling me to keep going, and I did. Thank you.
We stayed in a training house attached to Cedar City Fire. It was built to train second graders how to escape from a burning house. It was paid for by donations and spearheaded by the Fire Dept. It is an actual house rigged with smoke machines. Now that’s service, hands on training for children. Good Job guys. The training house is already been credited with saving one little girl. She was able to get out when her home caught fire. The story can be found on an NBC program called My Three Wish’s. I fully expected to wake up to training smoke banked to the ground. Thanks for letting us off easy boys.

Jason.

6 thoughts on “Day 5

  1. Thanks for another great story. Hmm I feel a book out of all this your a pretty good writer. Stay safe. Hope you were able to get a hold of my brother and nephew on Utah? Let me know if you need anything else.

  2. We will follow and support you till the end. Keep it up bro. Your life has always been rough like the roads your on but you always come out on top. Rock on. \../

Leave a Reply

